Eat, sleep, run, shop and repeat

I have fallen behind on my blog once again, but it was worth it to spend lots of time with Chris before I had to leave today to head back home and see my baby girl.

happy to have me home

After our exhausting day at the Spartan Race, we decided to get gussied up and go out for dinner. (Gussied up for us means changing out of our pajamas or running clothes)

Chris saw a commercial for the Jack Daniels burger at TGI Fridays, which made him want one, so we decided to eat there. I typically get a sandwich and I did not venture far from my comfort zone. The California Club sounded really good because it had my new favorite, avocado. I ordered it without ham and mayo because you don’t need both mayo and avocado, it defeats the purpose.

The sandwich was good, and the bacon was crispy, but I was a little grossed out by the following. I’m not one to usually say anything at restaurants so I just picked off the gross part and polished off half of the sandwich and all of the fries.

The avocado and lettuce from my sandwich

We stopped by Academy Sports and I decided to get the Nathan Quickdraw Plus handheld water bottle. I used it on my long run the next day. I plan on doing a complete review of the Nathan water bottle once I’ve had the chance to use it a few more times, but for now I will say that it took some getting used to.

I started my 10 mile run about 6:30 and the sun was already up, so it was starting to get warm. After the previous day, I was tired, sore, and had not mentally prepared myself for this run. I was fighting against the wind and the sun shining in my eyes for the first 5 miles.  It was a tough run and I even considered quitting during the first few miles but I just kept telling myself if I make it ___ far then I can stop and walk for a bit. This was a big step for me because I really hate to walk during my runs. It makes me feel like I didn’t really run the full distance because of the walk breaks. I walked .25 miles each at miles 3, 5, and 7 and I am convinced it is the only reason that I made it the full 10 miles, finishing in about 1 hour 44 minutes.

After I got back Chris wanted to go to Walmart to get some groceries so I dried off the pools of sweat from my run and changed clothes. It’s perfectly acceptable to go to Walmart without a shower right?

I spent the rest of Sunday lounging on the couch while Chris worked on his homework. After he finished we went to the mall and I spent the entire time checking out my new favorite section in Barnes and Noble (running books, what else). Any suggestions on what my next purchase should be? I flipped through this one during most of my visit:

Chris had Monday off and it was going to be my last day there, so we decided to make a day out of it. We started off the morning with a delicious breakfast buffet at the Beau Rivage. Monday is 2 for 1 for military so we got to eat lots of deliciousness for only $12. Here is my first plate of yumminess.

eggs, grits, fried potatoes, biscuit and gravy, pecan pancakes, cherry pastry and a corn muffin

My second plate of yumminess.

mixed fruit, cake doughnut, blueberry muffin, corned beef hash, bacon, banana bread, and some more fried potatoes

I didn’t end up eating all of it because some of it wasn’t that good and I didn’t want to waste the precious space in my stomach. By the time I was done, I was hating food. For the next few hours just the picture of food made me want to throw up and I was full for 9 hours afterward. I would call that a job well done at the buffet.

After our feast we went to Target and then to the Gulfport Premium Outlets and I spent lots of money getting a jump on my Christmas shopping. I am proud to announce I am almost done! I also picked up these fun things for me.

The Reebok store was having a 40% of everything sale so I got the compression socks for about $9. I’ve been wanting to try compression socks for a while but couldn’t stomach the price tag on most of them. I will let you know how these work out for me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 16:54:52

    There were lots of great deals at outlet stores yesterday and it sounds like you found several bargains. I’m almost done with my Christmas shopping too. We just have a few more things to get and I know what they are but I haven’t made the the time to go pick them up yet. Good job on your 10 mile run! I hope you enjoy the handheld-I have that same one and love it!

    Reply

    • cczerwonka
      Nov 13, 2012 @ 17:15:26

      Yes, there were bargains to be had for everyone and that just means I get to buy even more presents when I get such good deals. Isn’t is so nice to get the shopping out of the way early? It really takes some of the stress away from the holidays, now I just need to work on my Christmas cards.

      Reply

  2. Jill
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 22:03:47

    $9……I hate you. Just spent $39 on the compression calf sleeves at REI. That store is evil and I should not be allowed in there anymore. And I thought lululemon was the bane of my credit card lol. Love the walmart pic on this one. Hilarious. Feel the same way.

    Reply

    • cczerwonka
      Nov 14, 2012 @ 11:05:40

      Ha ha, sorry Jill, but they may not work as well as your $39 ones. Chris paid about $35 for his CEP sleeves and he loves them, you just never know if paying more means a better product until you try them.

      Reply

  3. Cait the Arty Runnerchick
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 00:42:23

    daang, looks like u were up to some fun and good eats! well deserved after that race, i’m always a fan of saying run hard, eat hard! 🙂 but i’d have taken off the avocado too…prolly one of the only veggies i don’t like. and the lettuce, uhh, i like mine all green. hehe.

    Reply

    • cczerwonka
      Nov 14, 2012 @ 11:09:05

      I used to not like avocado too, but it is a very tasty replacement for mayo. Of course I prefer it fresh and green, not brown ha ha. I agree, if the veggie is naturally green, it should still be green when I’m eating it.

      Reply

I love hearing from people! Please feel free to comment

