The long run that wasn’t

So that 17 miles I was supposed to run yesterday…yeah that didn’t happen. But it wasn’t for lack of trying, I got my butt out there with every intention of putting in my miles and I was even looking forward to it. For some reason the running gods were not smiling on me yesterday.

I waited until noon to leave for my run because I am a cold weather wimp and couldn’t handle the thought of running in 50 degree weather. Turns out I either overdressed or started too late because it was hot, I really need to suck it up and get out there earlier next time. 

During my first mile there was a strange pop in my left foot and then some stinging pain in the arch. I kept running to see if it was just a twinge that would go away and it did after about a mile. Then around mile 3 my right hip started to ache but I kept pushing to see if it would go away.

mile 3, at least the view was nice

I reached mile 5 and stopped to walk for a half a mile while I fueled and regrouped. I was starting to get some pain in my left IT band and was hoping it wouldn’t keep getting worse. I started running again and only made it to mile 6 before my IT band started hurting so bad I couldn’t run on it. At this point, I was in the middle of the loop where I could either keep going or turn around and it would be 5 miles back either way. Thankfully my hip and IT band didn’t hurt when I was walking, but for some reason my foot pain from earlier resurfaced.

In the middle of nowhere

I pulled out my phone and opened Pandora to get me through this incredibly long walk (or sometimes running for as long I could before the pain started again). Running 5 miles does not phase me, but walking 5 miles is a entirely different story. My body is not used to walking long distances and those 5 miles took their toll. I finally managed to hobble my way home with a total of 11.35 miles done in 2 hours 40 minutes.

This was a nice end to my rough run

I immediately filled some baggies with ice, collapsed on the floor, and iced everything that was hurting. At least my compression socks seemed to save my calf muscles from any soreness.

I stretched, foam rolled, and showered. As long as I didn’t sit for any extended period of time I felt okay. This morning my hip is a bit sore and I feel a twinge in my foot, so I have no immediate plans for a run because I obviously need to let my body rest. It seemed like every injury I have ever suffered as a runner tried to resurface yesterday and I’m not sure why.

I did learn that I can run comfortably with my Camelbak, which will make future long runs easier. I really hope this doesn’t change my training plans, but I know I need to listen to my body and stop trying to push myself just because the calendar says I need to run a certain distance.

Do you find walking long distances to be harder than running them?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 13:43:56

    Thank you for sharing your struggles with us! Today I did my “long” run and was soooo slow. i’m coming back from an injury, yes, but was EVEN SLOWER than before I did any training. i had to look that reality square in the face and admit that I’m not giving my body the rest nor the fuel to do well outdoors. THAT is going to change and we’ll try this again in a few days. My run was the pits today, too! 😦 in a different way but frustrating all the same. um, we need a TIME OUT here!

    Reply

    • Christine
      Nov 18, 2012 @ 15:59:37

      I’m sorry to hear about your frustrating run today. I’m happy to share if it helps others see that running is not always fun or easy but so worth it when you do get that great run day. I hope we can learn from each other and take it easy for a little while. The better healed we are the easier it will be to come back from injury. Good luck with the healing process and getting back into running!

      Reply

  2. Cait the Arty Runnerchick
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 00:24:25

    oh no, i’m soooo sorry to hear about ur foot and ITB! keep up the awesome runner rehab/TLC and i hope u heal up soon. injuries SUCK, but they are the nature of the beast…thankfully they will heal up and u’ll be back at it soon.
    and oh YES, how do i hate walking like none other. i have no problems doing a long run, but then i’ll detest walking from the parking lot to the store…lol.

    Reply

    • Christine
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 14:18:47

      Thanks for the encouragement! I’m going to try my best to keep from running until my body is ready.
      Ha ha, if we could just run everywhere, we would get there a lot faster and be happier

      Reply

  3. Suzanne
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 17:03:50

    Sorry you had such a rough run 😦
    Hopefully your next long run will go more smoothly!

    Reply

I love hearing from people! Please feel free to comment

