Gym time fun

I took my healing/rest day very seriously yesterday and stayed in bed all day. I did get up to feed my body (makes for faster healing), get some ice for my injuries, and to foam roll like no tomorrow.

This morning I woke up feeling some motivation to get sweaty , so I headed to the gym to get my cardio on. When I walked in the gym, I had a wonderful surprise waiting for me:

Yes, we finally got a stair climber! But first I needed to start easy, so I went with my go to stationary bike. I spent 35 minutes at a very easy pace, just feeling out my body and making sure I wasn’t doing any more damage. My hip was feeling tight at first but it seemed to loosen up about halfway through. After I finished, I hopped on the new stair climber, cranked up my Pandora 90s station and got to work. I felt some twinges in both of my Iliotibial bands so I made sure not to go too hard. Here was my attempt at sneaking a picture of me on my new favorite machine.

please excuse the blurriness, I was getting my stair climb on

I did some easy strength training then got on the treadmill to walk. I captured proof that I was taking it very easy. I walked for 28 minutes and then tried out some light jogging (4.5-5.0mph) for the last 2 minutes. It felt so good, I wanted to keep going but I controlled myself and stopped.

After I got home, I took off my shoes and this is what my socks looked like:

This was the first time I had worn those shoes since the Spartan Race spectator incident. I wonder how long it will take to get all of that dirt out of my shoes. After stretching, I made my favorite breakfast of banana walnut oatmeal, and yes I ate it out of a mixing bowl because all my other bowls were dirty.

Now here’s some Monday happy thoughts:

1. I have been thinking about chopping my hair off because it has been annoying me, but I decided to straighten it last week and fell back in love with my long hair.

2. I gave Daisy her favorite catnip toy and she got so happy:

And then promptly crashes:

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 16:33:23

    It sounds like you had a great workout this morning! Daisy looks quite happy to have her favorite catnip toy.

    Reply

I love hearing from people! Please feel free to comment

