The spinach and egg craze!

Yesterday after my stellar workout at the gym, I guess I was in a spinach and egg kind of mood because I had it for lunch and dinner. Let’s start with lunch, shall we. I had a bag of raw spinach that needed to be eaten, so I decided to make a spinach salad. Please keep an open mind and enjoy what I added to my salad: spinach, avocado, strawberries, hard boiled eggs, and cottage cheese. I know, a very odd combination but it was quite tasty and full of interesting flavor combos. Here is the result:

I wish I could have gotten a picture with just the spinach and strawberries because those colors together are the most delicious looking combination! While deciding what to have for dinner, I noticed I had some leftover steamed spinach. I thought it might taste good scrambled in with some egg whites, so I threw them in a pan together, added some shredded mozzarella and BAM, another great creation. I ate it with some toast and grits and it was delicious!

This morning I got up and decided to do a workout I hadn’t done in months: Jillian Michaels 30 Day shred. I did level one and two for good measure and boy did I feel how out of shape I have gotten. I guess randomly doing strength training does not keep you in Jillian Michaels shape.

After making my arms feel like jello, I decided to head outside and try a short, easy run to see how my body felt. One mile at a 9:33 pace felt good so I decided to keep going for one more mile. During the second mile my ab muscles starting hurting, hopefully from my ab work with Jillian. Second mile was done at a 9:24 pace. I made myself stop and decided to walk a mile. To make it interesting, I started competing with myself to see how fast I could walk it. I finished with a 14:45 pace, the fastest mile I have ever walked!

After stretching, showering, and eating breakfast (shredded wheat with strawberries) I sat down with my computer for some social media action. I spent the majority of my afternoon adding a new page to my blog. Check out my race results tab at the top of the page to see my handy work. I think I am getting the hang of this blogging thing!

As you probably know, today is Globally Organized Hug A Runner Day (G.O. H.A.R.D) and I have no runners nearby to hug so I am sending out a virtual hug to all you runners out there. Pass it on!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 08:16:37

    I love a spinach salad with strawberries. I could eat that by itself!

    Reply

    • Christine
      Nov 21, 2012 @ 13:39:59

      I probably would have eaten just that if I had the right kind of dressing for it. Next time though, there is something about that red and green together that is so appetizing.

      Reply

I love hearing from people! Please feel free to comment

